Student Parliament Competition

Student Parliament Competition

Our college had received invitation from Goa Legislature Secretariat Porvorim Goa/ Goa Legislative Forum and Directorate of Higher Education for “Student Parliament Competition” which was held from 29th January 2016 to 9th Feb 2016.

Our college deputed two teachers Mrs. Gayatri Behare, Assistant professor in Commerce and Ms. Kalpita Naik, Assistant Professor in Law to accompany a team of seven students to attend and observe the said competition on 8th February 2016 at Secretariat Porvorim.

The students who attended the competition were Mr. Sudir Kuttikar and Ms.Sneha Gaonkar from FYBCom, Ms.Deepa Patil and Mr. Parshuram Lamani from FYBCA, Ms.Maureen Gomes (Roll No. 5146) and Mr.Deepak Bhoi, Ms. Chetana Parwar from FYBBA.

We attended the performance of National Institute of Technology, Farmagudi during morning session. Afterwards we were taken for the tour of the Legislative Assembly. We were shown how the assembly is in session and adequate information regarding the same was given by the secretariat staff.

In the afternoon session we attended performance of Damodar College of Commerce & Economics, Margao. The Students were exposed to various aspects of Legislative Assembly like how the question hours, Zero hours take place, how the bill is passed in the Legislative Assembly and how the motion takes place etc. At the end of session tea and snacks were served to all students and teachers.

It was indeed a great experience at Secretariat as our students were exposed to student’s parliament competition, rules and procedure of Legislative Assembly and other related aspects of the competition. Our students showed a keen interest to participate in the said competition for the next year. Our Students also showed keen interest to attend “Budget Session in the Legislative Assembly” with the permission of the Principal.